We “Artist” by Definition

“Everyone is Creative.
Honesty is what makes the Creative Person an Artist. ”

I am looking for a simple definition for exactly what an Artist is.
I consider myself an Artist. Many others consider themselves artists as well.
I am a fan of creativity, and I am a fan of art. That said, I believe the two are not mutually exclusive.

“Everyone is Creative.
Honesty is what makes the creative person an Artist.”

My little droid dictionary.com app provides numerous definitions for Artist. Two I keyed in on are:

  • A person who produces works in any of the arts that are primarily subject to aesthetic criteria.
  • A person whose work exhibits exceptional skill.

There is also a Synonym Study provided which states that: ARTIST, ARTISAN, ARTISTE are persons having superior skill or ability, or who are capable of producing superior work.

“Everyone is Creative.
Honesty is what makes the Creative Person an Artist.”

Producing and selling “art” is a big business of course. The key to being successful is really simple. You have to build a reputation for providing the best Art for public patronage. How do you do that? Why, you seek out and employ the talents of the best artists of course!  

“Everyone is Creative.
Honesty is what makes the Creative Person an Artist. ”

Honestly, “Honesty” is creative control. I believe a creative person with absolute creative control, over time mastering ones unique self-techniques, will by default always produce high quality “Art”.  In my opinion it is Honesty that is superior to all other nuances of human qualities.

Back to my droid app. “Honesty” too has many definitions. There are two here that catch my eye:

  • Freedom from deceit or fraud.
  • Obsolete, chastity

I had to further look up obsolete and chaste. Real quick…

Obsolete is defined as “no longer in general use; fallen into disuse
Chastity, with its root word being chaste, in one way is defined as “pure in style; not excessively ornamented; simple.

Simple.

I tell folks who ask me what I do for a living that I am a “Starving Artist”, and I do so in a jokingly yet prideful manner. The term is well known and used; often times romantically to describe us creative persons who choose to express our Honesty the Old Fashioned (obsolete), and Simple way…

as Artists.

Leave a Reply

